University of Vienna

University of Vienna

hi                                                                     Country 






The University of Vienna (German: Universität Wien) is a public university located in Vienna, Austria. It was founded by Duke Rudolph IV in 1365 and is the oldest university in the German-speaking world. With its long and rich history, the University of Vienna has developed into one of the largest universities in Europe, and also one of the most renowned, especially in the Humanities. It is associated with 20 Nobel prize winners and has been the academic home to a large number of scholars of historical as well as of academic importance.

Students at the university can select from 181-degree programmes: 55 bachelor programmes, 110 master programmes, 3 diploma programmes, and 13 doctoral programmes. In the academic year 2016/17, the university awarded 6,565 first degrees (Bachelors and Diplomas), 2,908 Master's degrees and Doctoral degrees